The Society is governed by a Board of Directors representative of broad skill sets, inclusive of First Nations and regions from Hope to Barkerville.

On this balanced board, half of the Directors are First Nations representatives. There is also one designated Multicultural Director and two co-chairs, one of whom is First Nations.

Chief James Hobart
Chief James HobartIndigenous Co-Chair and Canyon Indigenous
Chief James Hobart joined NPTGS as the Indigenous Director representing the Canyon Region in October 2017 and became Indigenous Co-Chair in December 2022. James is the Chief Councillor for the Spuzzum First Nation and has also served as their CEO. He’s chaired the Aboriginal Children and Family Chief’s Coalition and held leadership positions with the Union of B.C. Indian Chiefs. He’s also an inventor.
Brent Rutherford
Brent RutherfordSouth Cariboo, Co-Chair
A Cariboo resident for nearly half a century, Brent Rutherford spent over 35 years in public education. He also has extensive experience in regional government and is an active member of South Cariboo Emergency Social Services group. In addition to being an active member of the NPTGS Board as Secretary, he is also a member of the Lac La Hache Volunteer Fire Department. He became Co-Chair in April 2022.
Mike Retasket
Mike Retasket Director Representing Tourism Associations
Mike Retasket joined the NPTGS Board as Director Representing Tourism Associations in October 2017. A champion for traditional knowledge and cultural-heritage values, he’s a storyteller, dancer, drummer and singer who served for 10 years as Chief of the Bonaparte Indian Band. Mike is also an experienced negotiator and a founding member of B.C. First Nations Leadership Council.
Byron Spinks
Byron SpinksSecretary, Thompson Indigenous
Byron Spinks was the founding co-chair of the New Pathways to Gold Society in 2007 and served on the board until 2015. After a break, he returned as Indigenous Director (Thompson) and became Secretary in April 2022. Byron is the manager of Tuckkwiowhum Village and the former Chief of the Lytton First Nation.
Roy Christopher
Roy ChristopherSouth Cariboo, First Nations
Roy Christopher has extensive experience as a business professional, administrator and leader. He has served the Canim Lake Band, the Cariboo Tribal Council and other First Nations organizations. He’s been Chief, Secretary-Treasurer and Band Manager of the Canim Lake Band and been on the NPTG Board of Directors since 2012.
Ron Paull
Ron PaullNorth Cariboo
Long-time NPTGS Director Ron Paull is no stranger to Quesnel City Hall, having held posts like City Clerk and is now in his fourth term as a councillor. He’s also been on many tourism and marketing organization’s boards, including the Expo 86 World’s Fair Tourism Advisory Board. His impressive list of community achievements and public service is extensive and he’s the producer of Barkerville’s Visitor Guide.
Paul Clark
Paul ClarkDirector
Paul is an educator and entrepreneur with extensive business experience in China. Among his degrees are a Doctor of Business Administration earned at the Swiss Management Centre in Zug, Switzerland, and a Diploma Business Administration from the British Columbia Institute of Technology in Burnaby. Paul joined the Board of Directors in the fall of 2020. While travelling the Fraser Canyon en route between Tsawwassen and Williams Lake as a child, he became enamored with the history of this part of our province. After living and working in Asia for a number of years, Paul brings to the NPTGS Board of Directors an international perspective. He also enjoys teaching at Thompson Rivers University.
Susanna Ng
Susanna NgDirector
Susanna Ng joined the NPTGS as its multicultural director in 2020. Before joining NPTG, Susanna had built a successful career in journalism, winning the prestigious Jack Webster Award three times. She devotes her post-journalist life to heritage conservation in Vancouver’s Chinatown and elsewhere.




Ashcroft, First Nations